2 min read

Weekly training - I got into Hardrock! - Christmas week

Weekly training - I got into Hardrock! - Christmas week

After a decade of trying to get in, I will finally be lucky enough to start the Hardrock 100 in 2024. To say it's been a huge dream of mine to be on this start line, would be an enormous understatement. I have picked races for the last number of years based on whether a finish would get me an extra ticket in the Hardrock lottery, and a slightly improved though still minuscule chance of being drawn. And I was picked a few weekends ago......

Hardrock to me is the true test of endurance. It's a harsh race in a beautiful setting. Altitude, weather, elevation change and navigation can all be factors. Needless to say I am going to try to prepare myself for this one! The motivation is high, and I don't think I've been this motivated for a race since Western States in 2016.

I made a list of potential issues last week, and some potential ways to attack these problems. The problem list reads:

Altitude
33,000ft downhill
33,000ft uphill
Technical descending when tired
Time on feet >30 hours
Wet feet for 90% of the time
Heavier pack than usual
Poles
Nutritional considerations for altitude

Right now I will try to focus on building up the resilience in my body. That's the number 1 focus for now. Lot's of hill work, strength training, way less speed work than normal, more hiking, more vertical gain. One by one I will address the other issues as the right time arises. I'll post short periodic updates here for anyone who is interested!

Dec 23 - 2 hour run from home - part way up Ha Ling (forgot spikes) + Strength work

Dec 24 - was really cold. Ran mostly flat for 80 mins with 2 x 20 min tempo + 30 min strength

Dec 26 - joined Saira & Bert for 6 x 1km + 30 mins strength

Dec 27 - Canova Hill Circuit - 72 mins - involves running up a hill, interspersed with squat jumps, split squat jumps, high knees, a sprint, and pogos. A lot of fun and a killer strength/run workout.

Dec 28 - slogged up Grotto with Albert - took us around 4h 20 - super cold and windy. Did Dirtbags in the evening (felt wiped out) (almost 2000m on the day)

Dec 29 - planned to run but felt a bit destroyed still so did an hour of core work and a 3km dog walk with weight vest!

Dec 30 - a good day - 1700m vert - took in Miner's Peak, Ha Ling then Ha Ling again . Felt great - tried Maurten Bicarb system. No GI troubles. Did it help? Maybe.