1 min read

"Reframing pain" - some words I wrote before the Vancouver Marathon!

"Reframing pain" - some words I wrote before the Vancouver Marathon!


I am running my first road Marathon this coming weekend. It will hurt, no doubt, but I signed up for it, it's voluntary, and I take a certain amount of pleasure in anticipating what's coming. Of course, the marathon gurus have all been there, and you know what to expect. For me, it's going to be a new experience, and maybe a whole new depth of discomfort.

I came across these words in a recent Outside magazine article.

"Also important is to realize that you really aren’t facing torture in a Gestapo holding cell: the pain you are fearing is something you’ve entered into voluntarily and chosen to encounter. “Some of the reconceptualization is simply recognizing the relative transience of the [discomfort] and juxtaposing it with [the] meaningful, wondrous, and fulfilling parts of the experience,” says. (Jeff Simons, Sports Psych.)

In fact, it’s even possible to reconceptualize the pain into something positive. “My philosophy has been to embrace the fact that it’s going to hurt,” says Ben Rosario, head coach of HOKA’s Northern Arizona Elite program. “Make the pain the best part, the part you’re looking forward to most,” he says.

Molly Huddle agrees. “I try to reframe it as leaning into and embracing the parts that hurt,” she says, “because [that’s] usually when the ‘racing’ happens, which is the fun part, and the deciding factor of the race.” Also, she notes, “I’m getting the most out of myself if it hurts.”

I'm not sure if it will help, but I'll try to remember this at mile 20, or mile 22, or whenever.....